Cindy Sherman

Cindy Sherman is definitely a character. I don’t mean this in a negative way at all! I actually think the uniqueness of her character is what allows her to create amazing work. To be able to create and see a new character within herself every time she puts on a unique piece of clothing or makeup is incredible, especially since she doesn’t attempt to make herself what is considered conventional beauty. Cindy purposefully strays from what is considered beauty to society and plays with what she believes is beautiful, and I believe that a great lesson can be taken from this. I know I struggle daily with what society believes beauty is, but Cindy’s work can be a good lesson in that as long as you find one quality that you believe is beautiful about yourself than that is all that really matters. I’m not going to lie though, some of her work was really creepy to me. I have no idea how she creates and captures some of her work. I am a little worried about her sanity, but if it allows for greater creativity good for her!

Leave a Reply

